>>> History

June	1936	The Shoko Chukin Bank Act enforced
lovember	1936	Inaugural general meeting held; Toyotaro Yuki, President of the Industrial Bank of Japan, Limited appointed as the Bank's first president
December	1936	Registration of establishment completed; Operations commenced; Network established comprising head office in Marunouchi, Kojimachi-ku, Tokyo and six branches including an office in Sapporo
March	1937	First series interest-bearing debentures issued
July	1940	First series discount debentures issued
August	1952	Establishment of a nationwide branch network encompassing every prefecture in Japan completed
December	1962	Construction of a new head office in Yaesu, Chuo-ku, Tokyo completed
May	1973	Foreign currency loan operations commenced
June	1985	The Shoko Chukin Bank Limited Act revised (perpetuation of the Bank by abolishing the initial 50-year term of existence)
August	1985	New York Representative Office established
February	1988	All-Japan Youth Kai launched
November	1990	Hong Kong Representative Office established
January	1995	The Great Hanshin Awaji Earthquake Task Force established
September	2003	Sales of certificates including discount bonds ended
March	2005	Shanghai Representative Office established
February	2006	New time deposit (currently "my harvest") operations commenced
June	2006	The Administrative Reform Promotion Law (The Law Concerning the Promotion of Administrative Reform for the Purpose of Realizing Small and Efficient Government) enforced, calling for the complete privatization of the Shoko Chukin Bank over a period of approximately five to seven years commencing October 2008
February	2007	Individual annuity and personal pension insurance operations commenced at certain branches
April	2007	Testamentary trust and estate liquidation operations commenced at certain branches
May	2007	The Shoko Chukin Bank Limited Act approved, stipulating the position, role and scope of operations of the Shoko Chukin Bank after commencing its transition to a new structure in October 2008 (company pursuant to a special act)
May	2008	Investment trust operations commenced at certain branches
October 0	2008	The Shoko Chukin Bank Limited Act enforced (transition from a jointly owned financial institution to a joint-stock company)
October	2008	YAESU SHOKO, LTD., SHOKOCHUKIN COMPUTER SYSTEMS CO., LTD., SHOKO SERVICE, LTD., YAESU KOSAN CO., LTD., JAPAN INSTITUTE OF COMMERCE, INDUSTRY AND ECONOMIC, LTD. (currently THE SHOKO CHUKIN BANK INSTITUTE of COMMERCE, INDUSTRY & ECONOMICS, LTD.), JAPAN SHOKO LEASE CO., LTD (currently SHOKO CHUKIN LEASE CO., LTD.), and SHOCHU CARD CO., LTD. (currently SHOKO CHUKIN CARD CO., LTD.) converted to consolidated subsidiaries
October 0	2008	The Shoko Chukin Bank designated under the law as a government-appointed financial institution charged with the responsibility of undertaking special responses should a crisis occur
June	2009	The Shoko Chukin Bank Limited Act revised (newly established provision for the additional government funding, while postponing the starting point for complete-privatization deadline by three years and a half)
July	2009	The Shoko Chukin Bank posted ¥150.0 billion for crisis response reserve
March	2011	Tohoku Pacific Earthquake Task Force (name changed to Great East Japan Earthquake Task Force on May 13, 2011) established
May	2011	The Shoko Chukin Bank Limited Act revised (postponement of starting point for complete-privatization deadline by three years)
September	2012	Bangkok Representative Office established
November	2012	Revitalization Support Program established
December	2012	Issuance of new Warisho, Rissho and Rissho Wide ended
May	2015	The Shoko Chukin Bank Limited Act revised (the government will, for the time being, hold the shares as necessary to ensure adequate implementation of crisis response measures while maintaining the policy for complete privatization)
December	2016	The Crisis Response Measures Management Department was newly established in the Co-operative Finance Planning Division (currently Co-operative Finance Planning Division) (Reorganized as the Crisis Management Division in October 2017, as an independent organization at Headquarters)
October 0	2017	Reorganized the Compliance Department into the Compliance Division as an independent organization at Headquarters
June	2018	Restructured organizations at Headquarters (Established the Finance Group, etc. as the Management Group. Established the Audit & Supervisory Department. Established the Corporate Strategy Department, IT Strategy Department (incorporated into the Digital Transformation Promotion Division as an independent group in April 2021), and Regional Cooperation Department in the Corporate Planning Division, etc.)
June	2018	Introduced mandated executive officer system
April	2019	Diversity and Inclusion Department was newly established in the Personnel Division (Reorganized as the Diversity and Inclusion Division in April 2022, as an independent organization at Headquarters)
April	2020	Risk Management Division established. Financial Crimes Compliance Department established in the Compliance Division. Future Design Department established in the Corporate Planning Division.
April	2021	Established the M&A Advisory Department, etc. in the Business Solution Division
April	2022	Sustainability Department was newly established in the Corporate Planning Division. Reorganized the Personnel Division into the Career Development Support Division